skip to main content
Elementary Testing
Classroom teachers formally assess reading skills each quarter. Additionally, the following standardized tests are administered annually:

1) Iowa Statewide Assessment of Student Progress (ISASP) (Formerly the Iowa Tests) The test, developed by Iowa Testing Programs (ITP) at the University of Iowa as per the Iowa Legislature, will debut in Iowa’s classrooms in the spring of 2019.

Assessments will be administered in the following subjects and grade levels:

Mathematics: Grades 3 - 11
English-Language Arts, including reading and writing: Grades 3 - 11
Science: Grades 5, 8, and 10
Unlike the previous assessment, the ISASP will not be timed. Visit the ISASP website for more information -

2) CogAT (Cognitive Abilities Test)
The CogAT is administered in October to students in third grade. The tests measure verbal, quantitative, and non-verbal reasoning abilities. The scores are reviewed and used as criteria for consideration for placement in the Talented and Gifted program.

3) ICAMS (Iowa Collaborative Assessment Modules)
The ICAM tests in reading, writing, and math are administered in the spring to students in grades four, eight, and eleven. The tests are a combination of multiple choice and constructed response questions. The test results are used to aid in the curriculum review process.