TK-6 Counseling

The TK-6 (Transitional Kindergarten - Sixth Grade) Developmental School Counseling Program is a planned sequential curriculum designed to maximize student competencies by addressing the emotional, social, and academic needs of all students. It involves school personnel, students, and parents in a collaborative effort to assist children in the acquisition of skills, knowledge, and attitudes necessary for high scholastic achievement. School Counselors focus on attendance, behavior, and academic progress. Parents are invited to contact the TK - 6 School Counselor, with questions about counseling services available to them or their children.


The role of the counselor consists of three components: counseling, consulting and coordinating

  • Counseling involves the counselor in direct services to students through classroom instructions, small group experiences, and individual counseling on request. Parent permission is required to participate in small groups. Students may be referred for individual services by a parent, staff member, or may self-refer. In the case of a self-referral, the counselor contacts parents if an initial visit warrants continued involvement in order to resolve a person, social, or academic concern.
  • The school counselor consults with school staff, parents, and other professionals in a team approach to identifying and meeting student needs.
  • Coordination is the organization of all guidance program components into an efficient and meaningful process. Close contact among all members of the staff, as well as community resources, is an important element of the program.


The transition from elementary school to middle school can be difficult for some children. It is important the school and parents do everything possible to ease the transition to help students be as successful as possible, academically and socially. Click HERE for a resource for students and parents to better prepare and guide students for middle school.

Elementary Testing

Classroom teachers formally assess reading skills each quarter. Additionally, the following standardized tests are administered annually:

1) Iowa Statewide Assessment of Student Progress (ISASP) (Formerly the Iowa Tests)

The test, developed by Iowa Testing Programs (ITP) at the University of Iowa as per the Iowa Legislature, debuted in Iowa’s classrooms in the spring of 2019.

Assessments will be administered in the following subjects and grade levels:

Mathematics: Grades 3 - 11

English-Language Arts, including reading and writing: Grades 3 - 11

Science: Grades 5, 8, and 10

Unlike the previous assessment, the ISASP will not be timed. Visit the ISASP website for more information - http://iowa.pearsonaccessnext.com/

2) CogAT (Cognitive Abilities Test)

The CogAT is administered in October to students in the second grade. The tests measure verbal, quantitative, and non-verbal reasoning abilities. The scores are reviewed and used as criteria for consideration for placement in the Talented and Gifted program.